the frequency a kenny chung blog

August 31st, 2013
according to

Those of you with YouTube accounts will be familiar with this popup below:

Using your real name on YouTube

It’s destructive (stops any YouTube playback), annoying (it will come back in a week or two even if you hit the “I don’t want to use my full name” button), and it’s creating clutter.

What I mean by this last point is that even if you don’t want to connect your YouTube account to your Google+ account, you can choose to keep your old username. Except, that actually creates a new Google+ account for that username. So then you’d end up with two Google+ accounts, one dedicated to YouTube.

I understand that Google wants more of our data, and more activity on their social network. But this just rubs me the wrong way and seems to be an overly-insistent and heavy-handed vehicle for going about this.

One Response to “New “Choices” for your YouTube Name”

  1. Marty Freeman

    i can t get the thing to work anywat

Leave a Reply

Creative Commons License
licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.